Skip to content

Positions

Description

Déclaration de positions ARIV

Voici nos positions sur les sujets suivants
Réduction des méfaits

Le vapotage est beaucoup moins nocif que fumer.

Les produits de vapotage ont été légalisés en tant que produits de consommation en mai 2018. Selon Santé Canada, « le vapotage est moins nocif que le tabagisme » et « il y a des améliorations générales à court terme de la santé si l’on passe complètement du tabagisme au vapotage

Prévention chez les jeunes

Soyons clairs: les mineurs ne devraient pas utiliser ou avoir accès à des produits de vapotage. Les produits de vapotage sont destinés aux fumeurs adultes seulement, et non aux jeunes ou aux non-fumeurs.

  • ARIV croit que les gouvernements devraient se concentrer sur les questions d’accès, d’application de la loi et d’éducation.
  • Il n’est pas productif de blâmer un canal de distribution ou un autre pour les jeunes qui utilisent des produits de vapotage.
Accise Impôt

ARIV n’appuie pas l’application d’une taxe d’accise sur les produits de vapotage, car leur adoption pourrait réduire les effets externes associés à la prévalence du tabagisme. Les produits de vapotage sont actuellement assujettis à la taxe de vente.

Arômes

ARIV ne soutient pas une interdiction de saveur. La réglementation actuelle qui interdit la promotion de certains arômes convient au marché canadien et devrait être appliquée.

Nous croyons que Santé Canada a trouvé le juste équilibre entre veiller à ce que les fumeurs adultes aient accès à des solutions de rechange moins nocives sans en faire la promotion auprès des jeunes.

Ingrédients

Nous ne fabriquons pas de produits contenant du THC, du cannabis ou de la vitamine E. Les produits de vapotage devraient afficher une liste d’ingrédients pertinents pour les consommateurs adultes. 

  • Il est irresponsable et naïf de la part des gouvernements de croire qu’en éliminant les produits de vapotage aromatisés, ils empêcheraient ceux qui cherchent à consommer des produits de THC illicites en utilisant la même méthode de livraison.
  • Depuis plus de 10 ans, les produits de vapotage aromatisés sont sur le marché canadien et on leur attribue le mérite d’avoir aidé des milliers de fumeurs adultes à renoncer à la consommation nocive de tabac sans qu’une seule maladie liée au vapotage ou un seul décès ait été signalé.
Marketing, Promotion, and Advertising

Our members only market vaping products to current vapers and/or adult smokers. We never market to youth or non-smokers.

  • Adult smokers should know about vaping as an alternative and communication freedoms are critical to building this awareness.
  • VITA supports the introduction of guidelines and will work with third parties and government members to develop codes of conduct related to marketing practices and to eliminate subjectivity in terms of the application of “youth appeal” concept.
Consommation de Nicotine

Les consommateurs doivent être informés de la présence de nicotine dans les produits de vapotage et de la dépendance à la nicotine. Nous appuyons l’interdiction des produits de vapotage dont les concentrations de nicotine sont de 66 mg/mL ou plus

Il n’a pas été démontré que la nicotine cause le cancer chez les humains et elle a été utilisée en toute sécurité pendant des décennies dans des produits de thérapie de remplacement de la nicotine autorisés avec peu d’effets indésirables importants-Le Centre international de recherche sur le cancer n’indique pas la nicotine comme cancérogène. De même, la National Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine (NASEM) des États-Unis a conclu en 2018 que « rien n’indique que la nicotine est cancérogène » et que « il n’y a probablement pas d’augmentation importante du risque de cancer attribuable à l’exposition à la nicotine fournie par les cigarettes électroniques. »

Qualité

La qualité et la sécurité des produits sont primordiales pour notre industrie. Nous respectons toutes les exigences de la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation.

Étiquetage

Nous étiquetons nos produits avec des renseignements pertinents pour les consommateurs adultes, y compris la divulgation des ingrédients et les mises en garde.

Distribution : Dépanneurs, stations-service et magasins de produits de vapotage

Les produits de vapotage devraient être facilement accessibles aux consommateurs adultes, particulièrement où il y vente de tabac ou de cigarettes. Cela est essentiel pour réaliser le potentiel de réduction des méfaits des produits de vapotage comme solution de rechange au tabagisme.

Règlementation

Une réglementation responsable du vapotage ainsi que des produits de vapotage doit être proportionnée et fondée sur des données factuelles.

Éducation

Nous continuerons d’échanger ouvertement de l’information, recherche et présentations réglementaires afin de sensibiliser les intervenants à notre catégorie. Cela comprend les fumeurs et vapoteurs adultes actuels, les représentants du gouvernement, les autorités de la santé, les législateurs, le public, les médias et les partenaires de l’industrie.

Skip to content

Positions

VITA Position Statements

The following provide our positions on the following topics

Harm Reduction

Vaping is much less harmful than smoking

Vaping products were legalized as consumer products in May 2018. Health Canada states that “vaping is less harmful than smoking” and “there are short-term general health improvements if you completely switch from smoking cigarettes to vaping products.”

Youth Prevention

Let us be clear: minors should not use or have access to vaping products. Vaping products are for current adult smokers only, not youth or non-smokers.

  • VITA believes governments should focus on the issues of access, enforcement and education.
  • It is not productive to blame one distribution channel or the other for youth using vaping products.
Excise

VITA does not support the application of an excise tax on vaping products as their uptake has the potential to reduce the externalities associated with smoking prevalence. Vaping products are currently subject to sales tax.

Flavours

VITA does not support a flavor ban. Current regulations that prohibit the promotion of certain flavours are appropriate for the Canadian market and should be enforced.

We believe that Health Canada has struck the right balance between ensuring that adult smokers have access to less harmful alternatives while not promoting to young people.

Ingredients

We do not manufacture products with THC, cannabis or vitamin E compounds. Vaping products should display a list of ingredients relevant to adult consumers. 

  • It's irresponsible and naive for governments to believe that by eliminating flavoured vape products they would prevent the actions for those looking to consume illicit THC products using the same delivery method.
  • For more than 10 years, flavoured vape products have been on the Canadian market and are credited with helping thousands of adult smokers give up harmful tobacco consumption without a single vape-related illness or death reported.
Marketing, Promotion, and Advertising

Our members only market vaping products to current vapers and/or adult smokers. We never market to youth or non-smokers.

  • Adult smokers should know about vaping as an alternative and communication freedoms are critical to building this awareness.
  • VITA supports the introduction of guidelines and will work with third parties and government members to develop codes of conduct related to marketing practices and to eliminate subjectivity in terms of the application of “youth appeal” concept.
Nicotine Consumption

Consumers must be informed when nicotine is present in vaping products and the addictiveness of nicotine. We support the prohibition on vaping products with nicotine concentrations of 66 mg/mL or more.

Nicotine has not been shown to cause cancer in humans and has been safely used for decades in licensed nicotine replacement therapy products with few significant adverse effects-The International Agency for Research on Cancer does not list nicotine as a carcinogen.  Similarly, the US National Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine (NASEM) in 2018 concluded that “there is no evidence to indicate that nicotine is a carcinogen” and that “there is likely no significant increase in risk of cancer from exposure to nicotine delivered by e-cigarettes.”

Quality

Product quality and safety is paramount to our industry. We comply with all requirements under the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act. 

 

Labeling

We label our products with information relevant to adult consumers, including ingredient disclosures and health warnings.

Distribution: Convenience Stores, Gas Stations, And Vapor Product Shops

Vaping products should be readily available to adult consumers, particularly wherever tobacco / cigarettes are sold. This is critical to achieve the harm-reduction potential of vaping products as an alternative to smoking.

Regulations

Responsible regulation on vaping and vaping products must be proportionate and evidence based.

Education

We will continue to openly share information, research and regulatory submissions to educate stakeholders about our category. This includes current adult smokers and vapers, government officials, health authorities, policymakers, the public, media, and industry partners.